Chip Taylor Communications



Subject: So. Studies/Sciences: Geography/Cultures

European Studies Series

A series of documentaries that offers in-depth studies on the geography, history, culture and people of various European countries; also informative perspectives on significant contemporary issues are addressed. Programs available on 25 individual DVDs, Digital Streaming Files or Videos; also in a 25-Disc Set. Click for more

England 4: Oxford Discovered

England 4: Oxford Discovered

"Highly Recommended. A comprehensive, understandable look at Oxford's development from medieval to modern times. Visits to the Bodleian Library and Oxford University Press are interspersed with accounts of the city's association with a who's-who of literary and cultural notables, including Christopher Wren, William Morris, C.S. Lewis and J.R.R. Tolkien. Appropriately chosen literary quotes and professional video footage present Oxford in a fine, well-researched manner. A strong addition to any library collection; also anyone planning a visit to Oxford would benefit from watching this program." -EMRO Review
There really is no other place quite like Oxford, England. Most agree it was poet Mathew Arnold who best described it, "And that sweet city with her dreaming spires, she needs not June for beauty's heightening." In this program we discover why Oxford, the epitome of romantic England, is renowned the world over and learn of its important place in history. Most noteworthy is the revered Oxford University, the oldest English speaking university in the world; its libraries, such as the Bodleian, are among the most celebrated in the world, not only for the vast collections of books and manuscripts, but also for the magnificent buildings, some of which date back to the Middle Ages. Oxford is also home to Britain's oldest public museum, the Ashmolean Museum, which opened to the public in 1683. Be it from the University grounds or from the famed Carfax Tower, we see Oxford truly is a "City of Dreaming Spires." Fans of Harry Potter books and Inspector Morse novels will delight in seeing a number of the hauntingly beautiful sights that were filmed here. Located on the Thames and Cherwell Rivers, Oxford is a bustling cosmopolitan city with roots that date back to the 9th century and a home to royalty and scholars for over 800 years. Here we too find Corpus Christi College, founded in 1517 by Richard Foxe, a trusted advisor to King Henry VII; we view beautiful St. Mary's Church; Water Meadow; and learn of T. E. Lawrence, Lawrence of Arabia, who lived and attended high school and several colleges in Oxford; he also wrote his famous book, Seven Pillars of Wisdom, here. Produced by DVP, Ltd. 04/09DE JSCA 52 min.





Arts: Architecture     Arts: Art & Artists     Arts: Instruction & How-to     Arts: Music     Arts: Performing Arts    
Arts: Photography     Cinema: Drama     Cinema: Family     Cinema: Literature     Cinema: Mysteries    
Cinema: Westerns     Computer Science     Criminal Justice, Law Enforcement     Early Childhood     English: Language Arts    
English: Literature & Writing     English: Poetry     Foreign Language Study     Foreign Language: French    
Foreign Language: Spanish     Games/Hobbies     Guidance     Health: Aging    
Health: Child Health & Safety     Health: Family & Parenting     Health: Holistic/Self-Help/Spirituality     Health: Medicine    
Health: Psychology & Psychiatry     Mathematics     Phys. Ed.: Instruction & Fitness    
Phys. Ed.: Recreation & Sports     Reading: Children's Literature     Reading: Storytelling    
Science Fiction/Fantasy     Science: Agriculture     Science: Environment     Science: Natural & Physical    
So. Studies/Sciences: Geography/Cultures     So. Studies/Sciences: History     So. Studies/Sciences: Law    
So. Studies/Sciences: Philosophy     So. Studies/Sciences: Political Science     So. Studies/Sciences: Religion    
So. Studies/Sciences: Sociology     So. Studies/Sciences: U.S./World Issues    
So. Studies/Sciences: Women's Studies     Special Education    
Staff Development     Voc. Ed.: Business/Career/Communications    
Voc. Ed.: Family & Consumer Science     Voc. Ed.: Industrial & Technical